[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 302, October 10, 2000]

PROVIDING FOR THE CREATION OF THE INTER-AGENCY COMMITTEE FOR THE DEVELOPMENT AND MANAGEMENT OF LEYTE ENHANCED RESOURCE-BASED AREA (ERAP)FOR PRODUCTIVITY PROJECT

WHEREAS, it is the priority thrust of the government to ensure food security and pursuant thereto, it is desirable to promote the modernization of agriculture through the sustainable development of agricultural estates and zones;

WHEREAS, Leyte Sab-a Basin, having the strategic geographical comparative advantages and the needed natural resources, has the tremendous potentials to be a food basket and contribute to the food sufficiency of the country;

WHEREAS, the Enhanced Resource-Based Area for Productivity (ERAP) Project has been formulated to realize the above development potentials of the Leyte Sab-a Basin.

WHEREAS, there is a need to provide institutional mechanism to efficiently pursue the development of the Leyte Sab-a Basin, considering that the abolition of the Leyte Sab-a Basin Development Authority and the absence of any existing bodies to provide the coordinating mechanism covering the area.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 31, Chapter 10 Title III, Book III of Executive Order No. 292 otherwise known as the Administrative Code of 1987, the President "shall have continuing authority to re-organize the administrative structure of the Office of the President. For this purpose, he may take any of the following actions: $x \times x \times (3)$ Transfer any function under the Office of the President to any Department or Agency as well as transfer functions to the Office of the President from Departments and Agencies;"

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law and the Constitution, do hereby order the following:

SECTION 1. Creation of the Inter-Agency Committee for Leyte Sab-a Basin. There is hereby created the Inter-Agency Committee to coordinate the efficient implementation of the Enhanced Resource-based Agenda for Productivity (ERAP) Project.

SEC. 2. Composition. The above Inter-Agency Committee shall be chaired by the Chairman, Presidential Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects with the following members: Secretaries of the Department of Agrarian Reform, Department of Public Works and Highways, Department of Agriculture, Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the Provincial Governor of Leyte, as members.