## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 42, November 25, 1998 ]

## AMENDING EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 197, DATED AUGUST 29, 1994, CREATING THE PRESIDENTIAL COMMISSION ON MARILAQUE GROWTH AREA, BY RENAMING AND RATIONALIZING THE ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE, AND REDEFINING THE FUNCTIONS AND TERRITORIAL COVERAGE OF THE COMMISSION

WHEREAS, there is a need to plan for, integrate, implement, and fast-track development efforts and programs in the growth corridor from the National Capital Region to the provinces of Rizal, Laguna, Aurora and Quezon to decongest Metro Manila and provide a growth link between Metro Manila and the provinces of Rizal, Laguna, Aurora and Quezon;

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 197, series of 1994, created the Presidential Commission on MARILAQUE Growth Area to fast-track the implementation of programs and projects to facilitate the development of the area from the National Capital Region to the provinces of Rizal, Laguna and Quezon;

WHEREAS, on the basis of the MARILAQUE FRAMEWORK PLAN, nine flagship projects have been identified, adopted and planned for implementation by the Commission; and

WHEREAS, there is a need to rename and rationalize the existing organizational structure, and redefine the territorial coverage and functions of the Commission in order to provide the proper perspective, minimize confusion and overlapping of programs among different development agencies, and provide greater focus and impetus to the programs and objectives of the Commission.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of Executive Order No. 197 is hereby amended to read as follows:

- "SEC. 1. Name and Territorial Coverage. The Presidential Commission to plan for and develop a Growth Corridor shall be known as Presidential Commission on RIZLAQUE Growth Area, embracing the provinces of Rizal, Laguna, Aurora and Quezon".
- SEC. 2. Section 2 of Executive Order No. 197 is hereby amended to read as follows:
- "SEC. 2. Composition. The Commission shall be chaired by the Chairman of the Presidential Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects, with the Chairman of the Public Estate Authority (PEA) as Co-Chairman, and the following as members: Chairman of the Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council, Deputy Director General, National Economic and Development Authority; Undersecretaries of the Department of Public Works and Highways, Department of Environment and