[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 46, January 11, 1993]

CONSTITUTING THE BIPARTISAN EXECUTIVE-LEGISLATIVE ADVISORY COUNCIL ON THE SABAH ISSUE

WHEREAS, the Senate approved on 28 October 1992 Resolution No. 13 which provides that:

"Resolved by the Senate, to urge the President to form a Bipartisan, Legislative-Executive Advisory Committee, in consultation with the Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives as regards the membership of legislators who shall sit in the Committee, to study alternative modes of pursuing the Sabah claim in the appropriate international and regional fora.

Resolved, finally, to recommend that the Department of Foreign Affairs reestablish the Sabah Office in the Department to serve as one unit in the Government to regularly monitor development on the Sabah issue and to provide assistance to the heirs of the Sultanate of Sulu."

WHEREAS, the House of Representatives, likewise, approved on 26 November 1992 Resolution No. 19 which provides that:

"Resolved by the House of Representatives, to urge President Fidel V. Ramos to organize a bipartisan legislative-executive advisory council in consultation with the Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives on the membership of legislators who will sit in the council to draft the final Philippine position on the Sabah claim including the various modes of pursuing the claim, the venue, and the schedule for implementation."

WHEREAS, due to the sensitivity and complexity of the Sabah issue and in line with its existing policy of consultation, the Executive Branch shares the same view of a bipartisan approach in resolving the Sabah issue;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

Section 1. *The Council*. There is hereby constituted the Bipartisan Executive-Legislative Advisory Council on the Sabah Issue, hereinafter referred to as the Council, composed of the following: eight (8) representatives from the Executive Branch to be designated by the President, eight (8) members of the Senate which shall include a member of the minority party, to be designated by the Senate President, eight (8) members of the House of Representatives which shall include a member of the minority party, to be designated by the Speaker of the House.

The President shall designate the Chairman of the Council.