[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 60, February 26, 1993]

CREATING THE INTER-AGENCY COMMITTEE ON INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS

WHEREAS, Intellectual Property Rights - patents, trademarks and copyrights - have gained universal importance because of the important role technology plays in influencing international economics and trade;

WHEREAS, government policies related to Intellectual Property Rights would have far-reaching economic implications on our trade relations with our trading partners;

WHEREAS, the recognition and adequate protection of the rights of inventors, authors, and trademarks owners should enhance the economic environment needed to attract foreign investments;

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Government to protect intellectual properties against infringements, piracy and counterfeiting;

WHEREAS, there is a pressing need to have close coordination among government agencies responsible for the protection of intellectual property rights;

WHEREAS, there is a pressing need to come up with concerted efforts in the policy formulation of the Government in order to effectively combat piracy and counterfeiting of intellectual property rights;

WHEREAS, the Government is now currently in the process of evaluating its present laws on intellectual property rights in consonance with its multilateral and bilateral commitments;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

Section 1. **Organization.** - There is hereby created an Inter-Agency Committee on Intellectual Property Rights (hereinafter called the "Committee") under the Office of the President.

Section 2. *Composition.* - The Committee shall be composed of the Secretary of Trade and Industry, as Chairman, the Secretary of Justice and Secretary of Finance as Vice-Chairman, and the following as Members: the Chief Presidential Legal Counsel, the Director of the National Bureau of Investigation, the Chief of the Philippine National Police, the Commissioner of the Bureau of Customs, the Chairman of the Videogram Regulatory Board, the Commissioner of the National Telecommunications Commission, the Chief of the Copyright Office of the National Library, the Director of the Bureau of Patents, Trademarks and Technology Transfer, the Director of the Bureau of Trade Regulations and Consumer Protection, and one