[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 429, October 12, 1990]

PROVIDING FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE REGIONS IN MINDANAO, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

WHEREAS, Article X, Section 15 of the Constitution states that:

"There shall be created autonomous regions in Muslim Mindanao and in the Cordilleras consisting of provinces, cities, municipalities and geographical areas sharing common and distinctive historical structures, and other relevant characteristics within the framework of this Constitution and the national sovereignty as well as territorial integrity of the Republic of the Philippines";

WHEREAS, pursuant to the aforesaid mandate, Republic Act No. 6734 entitled, "An Act Providing For An Organic Act For The Autonomous Region In Muslim Mindanao" was signed into law on August 1, 1989;

WHEREAS, pursuant to Republic Act No. 6734, a plebiscite was held on November 19, 1989 in the provinces and cities identified in Republic Act No. 6734;

WHEREAS, the Commission on Elections, in its Resolution No. 2205 dated November 26, 1989, declared that the Organic Act for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao has been approved and/or ratified in the Provinces of Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur;

WHEREAS, Article XIX, Section 13 of Republic Act No. 6734 states that:

"The creation of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao shall take effect when approved by a majority of the votes cast by the constituent units provided in paragraph (2) of Sec. 1 of Article II of this Act in a plebiscite which shall be held not earlier than ninety (90) days or later than one hundred twenty (120) days after the approval of this Act: *Provided*, That only the provinces and cities voting favorably in such plebiscite shall be included in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. The provinces and cities which in the plebiscite do not vote for inclusion in the Autonomous Region shall remain in the existing administrative regions: *Provided, however*, That the President may, by administrative determination, merge the existing regions".

WHEREAS, there is an urgent need to reorganize the administrative regions in Mindanao to guarantee the effective delivery of the field services of government agencies taking into consideration the formation of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CORAZON C. AQUINO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of

the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. REGION IX, to known as WESTERN MINDANAO, shall be reorganized to include the following provinces and cities:

Provinces

Zamboanga del Norte Misamis Occidental Zamboanga del Sur Basilan

Lanao del Norte

Cities

Zamboanga	Tangub
Pagadian	Ozamis
Dipolog	Iligan
Dapitan	Marawi
Oroquieta	

The City of Pagadian shall serve as the regional center. The City of Zamboanga shall remain the commercial and industrial center.

SEC. 2. REGION X, to be known as NORTHERN MINDANAO, shall include the following provinces and cities:

Provinces

Agusan del Norte Agusan del Sur Misamis Oriental

Camiguin Bukidnon Surigao del Norte

Cities

Cagayan de Oro Gingoog Butuan

The City of Cagayan de Oro shall serve as the regional center.

SEC. 3. REGION XI, to be known as SOUTHERN MINDANAO, shall include the following provinces and city:

Provinces

Davao del Sur Davao del Norte

Davao Oriental Surigao del Sur

City

Davao City

The City of Davao shall serve as the regional center.