Source: www.officialgazette.gov.ph

[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 898, May 28, 1983]

REORGANIZING THE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION COOPERATIVES AND BROADENING ITS POWERS AND FUNCTIONS

WHEREAS, under Memorandum Order No. 395 dated 19 October 1973, there was created the Committee on Transportation Cooperatives in the Office of the President for the prime purpose of promoting and facilitating the early formation of transportation cooperatives;

WHEREAS, under Executive Order No. 708 dated 27 July 1981, the Committee on Transportation Cooperatives was attached to the Ministry of Transportation and Communications to enhance the efficiency of government in the control and supervision of facilities and services related to transportation;

WHEREAS, under the existing government organization, transportation cooperatives are now supervised by both the Ministry of Agriculture, through the Bureau of Cooperatives Development and the Ministry of Transportation and Communications, through the Committee on Transportation Cooperatives;

WHEREAS, a single agency, the Ministry of Transportation and Communications, can more effectively coordinate the regulation and operations of transportation cooperatives, in line with the integration and rationalization of public transportation systems in the country;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and ordain:

SECTION 1. Composition. The Committee on Transportation Cooperatives (CTC), created under Memorandum Order No. 395 dated 19 October 1973, is hereby renamed, Office of Transportation Cooperatives and reconstituted to be composed of an appointee from the Office of the President as Chairman; the Deputy Minister of Transportation and Communications as Co-Chairman; the Deputy Minister of Labor and Employment, the Director-General of the Philippine Constabulary/Integrated National Police, the Chairman of the Board of Transportation, the National Chairman of Katipunan ng mga Kooperatibang Pansasakyan ng Pilipinas, Inc., as members and who shall serve in an ex-officio capacity.

There shall be an Executive Director of the Office of Transportation Cooperatives who shall also sit as member thereof. He shall be appointed by the President and shall serve for a term of two (2) years with an annual compensation to be fixed by the Committee.

The officials next on rank to, or such officials duly designated by the regular members shall serve as alternate members. The alternate members shall attend