Source: www.officialgazette.gov.ph

## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 649, February 09, 1981 ]

## REORGANIZING THE LAND REGISTRATION COMMISSION INTO THE NATIONAL LAND TITLES AND DEEDS REGISTRATION ADMINISTRATION AND REGIONALIZING THE OFFICES OF THE REGISTRARS THEREIN

WHEREAS, there is a need to improve the services and better systematize the operation of the Land Registration Commission in the Ministry of Justice;

WHEREAS, to this end it becomes necessary to reorganize and restructure the Land Registration Commission, including its provincial and city registries, and to regionalize said registries;

WHEREAS, under Presidential Decree No. 1416, as amended, the President is empowered to undertake such organizational and related improvements as may be appropriate in the light of changing circumstances and new developments;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers in me vested by Presidential Decree No. 1416, as amended, do hereby order and ordain the following:

SECTION 1. National Land Titles and Deeds Registration Administration; Creation of the Offices of the Administrator and Deputy Administrator. – The Land Registration Commission is hereby reorganized into an office to be known as the National Land Titles and Deeds Registration Administration. It shall have the following functions:

- (1) Issue decrees of registration pursuant to final judgments of the courts in land registration proceedings and cause the issuance by the Registrars of Land Titles and Deeds of the corresponding certificates of title;
- (2) Be the central repository of records relative to original registration of lands titled under the Torrens system, including subdivision and consolidation plans of titled lands; and
- (3) Extend assistance to courts in ordinary and cadastral land registration proceedings and to the other agencies of the government in the implementation of the land reform program.

There are hereby created in the Administration the Offices of the Administrator and the Deputy Administrator.

The Administrator shall have the following powers and functions:

(1) Exercise supervision and control over all Registrars of Land Titles and Deeds and other personnel of the Administration;

- (2) Resolve cases elevated en consulta by, or on appeal from decisions of, Registrars of Land Titles and Deeds;
- (3) Exercise executive supervision over all clerks of court and personnel of the Courts of First Instance throughout the Philippines with respect to the discharge of their duties and functions in relation to the registration of lands;
- (4) Implement all orders, decisions, and decrees promulgated relative to the registration of lands and issue subject to the approval of the Minister of Justice, all needful rules and regulations therefor; and
- (5) Verify and approve subdivision, consolidation, and consolidation-subdivision survey plans of properties titled under Act No. 496 except those covered by P.D. No. 957.

The Deputy Administrator shall act as Administrator during the absence or disability of the Administrator and when there is a vacancy in the position until another person shall have been designated or appointed in accordance with law. The Deputy Administrator shall also perform such other functions as the Administrator may assign to him.

- SEC. 2. Creation of Departments and Division in the Administration. There are hereby created the following departments and divisions in the Administration:
- (a) Administration and Personnel Management Department to be headed by a Manager for Personnel Management and Administration. There shall be under this Department the following divisions:
- (1) Administrative Services Division to be headed by a Chief Administrative Officer;
- (2) Personnel Management Division to be headed by a Chief Personnel Officer;
- (3) Docket Division to be headed by a Docket Chief.
- (b) Legal Affairs Department to be headed by a Manager for Legal Affairs. There shall be under this Department the following divisions:
- (1) Clerk of Court Division to be headed a Chief Clerk of Court;
- (2) Inspection and Investigation Division to be headed by a Chief Registry Inspector;
- (3) Law Division to be headed by a Chief Legal Officer.
- (c) Department on Registration to be headed by a Manager for Registration.
- (d) Financial Management Department to be headed by a Manager for Financial Management. There shall be under this Department the following Division;
- (1) Accounting Division to be headed by a Chief Accountant;

(2) Budget and Finance Division to be headed by a Chief Financial Officer.

There shall be a Security Division under the Office of the Administrator which shall be headed by a Chief Security Officer.

SEC. 3. Creation of Regional Registries of Land Titles and Deeds. – There are hereby created thirteen (13) regional Registries of Land Titles and Deeds, one for each of the following regions:

Region I, consisting of the provinces of Abra, Benguet, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Mountain Province, and Pangasinan, and the cities of Baguio, Dagupan, Laoag and San Carlos, with center at San Fernando, La Union;

Region II, consisting of the provinces of Batanes, Cagayan, Ifugao, Isabela, Kalinga-Apayao, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino, with center at Tuguegarao, Cagayan:

Region III, consisting of the provinces of Bataan, Bulacan (except the municipality of Valenzuela), Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Zambales, and the cities of Angeles, Cabanatuan, Olongapo, Palayan and San Jose, with center at San Fernando, Pampanga;

The National Capital Region, consisting of the cities of Manila, Quezon, Pasay and Caloocan, and the municipalities of Navotas, Malabon, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Makati, Pasig, Pateros, Taguig, Marikina, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa and Valenzuela;

Region IV, consisting of the provinces of Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Marinduque, Mindoro Occidental, Mindoro Oriental, Palawan, Quezon, Rizal (except the cities and municipalities embraced within the National Capital Region), Romblon, and Aurora, and the Cities of Batangas, Cavite, Lipa, Lucena, Puerto Princesa, San Pablo, Tagaytay and Trece Martires, with center at Rizal;

Region V, consisting of the provinces of Albay, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Catanduanes, Masbate, and Sorsogon, and the cities of Legaspi, Naga and Iriga, with center at Legaspi City;

Region VI, consisting of the provinces of Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Iloilo, and Negros Occidental, and the cities of Bacolod, Bago, Cadiz, Iloilo, La Carlota, Roxas, San Carlos and Silay, and the subprovince of Guimaras, with center at Iloilo City;

Region VII, consisting of the provinces of Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor, and the cities of Bais, Canlaon, Cebu, Danao, Dumaguete, Lapu-Lapu, Mandaue, Tagbilaran and Toledo, with center at Cebu City;

Region VIII, consisting of the provinces of Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Southern Leyte, and Western Samar, the subprovince of Biliran, and the cities of Calbayog, Ormoc and Tacloban, with center at Tacloban City;

Region IX, consisting of the provinces of Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga del Sur, and the cities of Dapitan, Dipolog, Pagadian and Zamboanga, with center at Zamboanga City;