## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 324, June 17, 1950 ]

## ORGANIZING A CERTAIN PORTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF ABUYOG, PROVINCE OF LEYTE, INTO A REGULAR MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF MACARTHUR

Pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code and upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior, there is hereby created in the Province of Leyte, a municipality to be known as the municipality of MacArthur comprising the northern part of the municipality of Abuyog and separated therefrom by the following line:

Starting at the point on the east coast of Leyte between the mouth of the Balere-Maya River and the mouth of the Bito River, in a line running westerly in such a way as to place barrios Pongon, Liwayway, Danao and Tinawan within the municipality of MacArthur, and barrios A. Bonifacio, Pionocawan, Bugho, Binoljo and Manarog within the municipality of Afcuyog, until it intersects the present Baybay-Abuyog boundary in the west. (Map of Abuyog, prepared by draftsman Santiago Bonife and Governor Landia used in describing this boundary line.)

The municipality of MacArthur as herein created contains the following barrios: Tarragona, which shall be the Seat of government, Toyo, Burabod, Kapuglosan, Palale, Kiling, San Isidro, Causwagan, Osmeña, Maya, Batug, General Luna, Kasuntingan, Tinawan, Liwayway, Danao, and Pongon.

The municipality of Abuyog shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the municipality of MacArthur.

The municipality of MacArthur, as herein organized, shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, vice-mayor and a majority of the councilors thereof.

Done in the City of Manila this 17th day of June, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and fifty, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the fourth.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines* 

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** *Executive Secretary*