## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 345, September 19, 1950 ]

## CREATING THE PEACE FUND CAMPAIGN COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the maintenance of peace and order demands the cooperation of every inhabitant in the task of eradicating elements of the population who are spreading terror, conflict and confusion in outlying communities and seeking to subvert and overthrow the lawfully constituted authority of the Republic of the Philippines;

WHEREAS, the successful accomplishment of this task requires urgently additional funds for the carrying out of the purposes hereinafter stated; and

WHEREAS, responsible elements of the nation have manifested their spirit of adherence and cooperation in this respect and have signified their desire to contribute in the campaign to raise such funds;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Elpidio Quirino, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby create the Peace Fund Campaign Commission which shall be charged with the responsibility of raising funds from voluntary contributions to carry out the purposes of this Order. Said funds shall be (1) for the purchase of loose firearms and such other arms and equipment, as can be used to resist the violent elements in accordance with the provisions of Republic Acts Nos. 482 and 486; (2) for the compensation of additional members of the Armed Forces to be employed in the peace campaign; (3) for indemnity to the heirs of those who may die or receive injuries in line of duty; (4) for other relief and assistance to civilians who may be engaged in the peace campaign; and (5) for aid in the protection of the civilian population in case of emergency. The amounts collected shall be allotted by authority of the President of the Philippines, upon the recommendation of the Chairman of the Commission, the Treasurer of the Commission and the Commissioner of the Budget. All the contributions and disbursements of the Commission shall be audited by the Auditor General or his representative in accordance with law.

The Commission shall be composed of the following:

<ol> <li>Hon. Fernando Lopez</li> </ol>	Chairman
2. Hon. Eulogio Rodriguez, Sr.	Vice-Chairman and Treasurer
3. Hon. Pio Joven	Member and Secretary
4. Hon. Pio Pedrosa	Member
5. Hon. Pascual Espinosa	Member
6. Hon. Vicente Carmona	Member
7. Hon. Placido Mapa	Member
8. Hon. Nicanor Roxas	Member
9. Hon. Jose Pigueras	Member
10. Hon. Gil Puyat	Member
11. Mr. Ramon del Rosario	Member