[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 199, January 05, 1949]

ORGANIZING CERTAIN PORTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF CABAGAN, PROVINCE OF ISABELA, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF SANTO TOMAS

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, the barrios of Antagan, Baluarte, Banco, Calanigan, Calinauan Norte, Cañogan Aba jo, Cañogan Alto, San Rafael, Santo Tomas, Barumbung, Bubug, Bagu-Tari, Camayang, San Vicente, and Uawang and the sitios of Bagabag, Balleleng, Biga, Bulinao, Calonguan, Cullalabo, Lalappan, Malapagay and San Roque, all of the municipality of Cabagan, Province of Isabela, are hereby organized into an independent municipality under the name of Santo Tomas, with the seat of government at the barrio of Santo Tomas.

The boundaries of the municipality of Santo Tomas shall be as follows:

From a point at the middle of the Cagayan River on a line S. 16° 45' W. 4,000 meters from the municipal building of Cabagan to a tamarind tree, monument No. 1 at the south end of Lake Bagebey, thence S. 76° 15' W. 4,000 meters until it crosses a branch of Wawang River and thence S. 65° 00'. W. 15,200 meters crossing the National road on a pipe culvert at Km. 414 + 250 until it intersects the provincial boundary of Isabela and Mountain Province. From this intersection it follows the provincial boundary until it intersects the present municipal boundary of Cabagan and Tumauini. Following this boundary line until it intersects the Antagan creek and following its course until the Cagayan River. The Cagayan River forms the boundary line separating the municipality of Cabagan from the municipality of Sto. Tomas.

The municipality of Cabagan shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof comprised in the municipality of Santo Tomas.

The municipality of Santo Tomas shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, vice-mayor and a majority of the municipal councilors thereof.

Done at the City of Manila, this 5th day of January, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-nine, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the third.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines*

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** *Executive Secretary*