[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 249, July 26, 1949]

ORGANIZING A CERTAIN PORTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF KABASALAN, PROVINCE OF ZAMBOANGA, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF IPIL.

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior, and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, the barrios of Bakalan, Sanito, Titay, Linguisan, Tungawan and Bangaan, and the sitios of Tupilak and Danit are hereby segregated from the municipality of Kabasalan, Province of Zamboanga, and organized into an independent municipality under the name of Ipil, with the seat of government at barrio Sanito.

The boundary line that shall separate the municipality of Ipil from the municipality of Kabasalan shall be the course of Bakalan River from the intersection of its left arm (facing north) with the Kabasalan-Sindangan boundary, to its mouth at Sibuquey Bay. (Description based on data shown in 19SS Census Atlas and map of proposed municipality "of Sanito, scale 1:250,000, signed by District Land Officer Gorgonio D. Itaas.)

The municipality of Kabasalan shall consist of its present territory minus the portion thereof incorporated in the new municipality of Ipil.

The municipality of Ipil, as herein organized, shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, the vice-mayor and a majority of the councilors thereof.

Done in the City of Manila, this 26th day of July, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-nine, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the fourth.

> (SGD.) ELPIDIO QUIRINO President of the Philippines

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** Executive Secretary



