[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 289, October 21, 1949]

ORGANIZING A PORTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF GONZAGA, PROVINCE OF CAGAYAN, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF SANTA ANA.

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, there is hereby created in the province of Cagayan a municipality to be known as the municipality of Santa Ana, which shall consist of the northeastern portion of the municipality of Gonzaga, more particularly described and bounded as follows:

On the north, east, and west, by the limits of the municipal waters which the municipality of Santa Ana shall have pursuant to the provisions of section 2321 of the Revised Administrative Code; and on the south, by the Bawa River to a point C-1051 B. F., thence a straight line running southeasterly to Maloncon Island on the Pacific side.

The municipality of Santa Ana contains the barrios of San Vicente, Santa Cruz, Palauig, Diora, which shall be the seat of the municipal government, Racat, Casamba-langan, Alutan, Boundary (Bawa), Casagan, Batu, Marede, Kapanikian and Lazam-Dungeg.

The municipality of Gonzaga shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the municipality of Santa Ana.

The municipality of Santa Ana shall begin to exist on January 1, 1950.

Done in the City of Manila, this 21st day of October, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-nine, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the fourth.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines*

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** *Executive Secretary*

