[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 293, November 05, 1949]

ORGANIZING A PORTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF CAUAYAN, PROVINCE OF ISABELA, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF CABATUAN

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, there is hereby created in the Province of Isabela a municipality to be known as the municipality of Cabatuan, which shall consist of the western portion of the municipality of Cauayan, more particularly described and bounded as follows:

Beginning from Point No. 1, known as Post No. 9 of the Isabela Estate: Thence S. 59° 00' E., 4,630 m. to point No. 2, Post No. 5 of the Isabela Estate; thence S. 81° 00' W., 2,435 m. to point No. 3, Post No. 4 of the Isabela Estate; thence along the Marabolig creek upstream to point No. 4, Post No. 3 of the Isabela Estate; thence along the Marabolig creek upstream to point No. 5, Post No. 2 of the Isabela Estate; thence along the Marabolig creek upstream to point No. 6, Mon. S. corner Isabela Estate; thence N. 77° 31' W., 807.80 m. to point No. 7, Post No. 1, Isabela Estate; thence N. 77° 32' W., 2,276.21 m. to point No. 8, Mon. S-I, Isabela Estate; thence N. 77° 32' W., 1,159.95 m. to point No. 9, Mon. S-2, Isabela Estate; thence N. 31° 57' E., 322.33 m. to point No. 10, Post No. 13 of the Isabela Estate; thence N. 30° 00' W., 2,977.85 m. to point No. 11, Post No. 16, of the Isabela Estate: thence N. 30° 00' "W., 2,048.57 m. to point No. 12, Post No. 30, of the Isabela Estate; thence N. 30° 00' W., 1,050.00 m. to point No. 13, Old BL Monument of the Isabela Estate; thence along the Magat river downward to point No. 14, Post No. 26, of the Isabela Estate; thence continue along the Magat river downstream to point No. 15, Post No. 25, Isabela Estate; thence S. 30° 00' E., 1,520.00 m. to point No. 16, Post No. 21 of the Isabela Estate; thence S. 30° 00' E., 1,565.00 m. to point 17, Post No. 8, of the Isabela Estate; thence along the Macanao river upstream to the point of beginning; containing an area of approximately 8,077 hectares.

The municipality of Cabatuan contains the following barrios: Cabatuan, which is the seat of government, Buenavista, Caggong, Canan, Culing, Diamantina, Luzon, Macalaoat, Magdalena, Namanama, Tandul Viejo and Villa Visaya, and the sitios of Nueva Era, Sampaloc and Saranay.

The municipality of Cauayan shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the municipality of Cabatuan.

The municipality of Cabatuan shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, vice-may or, and a majority of the councilors thereof, but in no case earlier than November 15, 1949.

Done in the City of Manila, this fifth day of November, in the year of Our Lord,