[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 292, November 01, 1949]

ORGANIZING A PORTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF LILOAN, PROVINCE OF LEYTE, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF SAN FRANCISCO

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code,, there is hereby created in the Province of Leyte a municipality to be known as the municipality of San Francisco, which shall consist of the southern portion of the municipality of Liloan, more particularly described and bounded as follows:

On the north, by the course of Calian River from its mouth at Calian Bay to its source;

On the east, by the mountain ridge starting from the source of Calian River to the intersection of said ridge with the Liloan-Pintuyan boundary line;

On the south, by the Liloan-Pintuyan boundary line; and On the west by the limits of the municipal waters which the municipality of San Francisco shall have pursuant to the provisions of section 2321 of the Revised Administrative Code.

The municipality of San Francisco contains the barrios of San Francisco, which shall be the seat of government, Marayag and Santa Paz.

The municipality of Liloan shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the municipality of San Francisco.

The municipality of San Francisco shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, vice-mayor and a majority of the councilors thereof, but in no case earlier than November 15, 1949.

Done in the City of Manila, this 1st day of November, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-nine, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the fourth.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines*

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** *Executive Secretary*