[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 162, August 12, 1948]

ORGANIZING CERTAIN BARRIOS OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF KAWAYAN, PROVINCE OF LEYTE, TOGETHER WITH THE BARRIO OF JAMORAON OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF NAVAL, SAME PROVINCE, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF ALMERIA, WITH THE SEAT OF GOVERNMENT AT THE BARRIO OF ALMERIA

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior, and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, the barrios of Almeria, Tabunan, Talahid, Pili, Gaukab, all of the municipality of Kawayan, Province of Leyte, and the barrio of Jamoraon, municipality of Naval, same province, are hereby organized into an independent municipality under the name of Almeria with the seat of government at the barrio of Almeria.

The boundary line between the municipality of Kawayan and the municipality of Almeria as herein organized starts at Tabunan River following its course thence running straight to half of the old Kawayan-Caibiran boundary line; and the boundary line between the municipality of Naval and the municipality of Almeria consists of a straight imaginary line starting at Point Polang Bato and running easterly to the corner of the old Kawayan-Naval and Kawayan-Caibiran boundaries. These lines are shown in the sketch map of Kawayan, Almeria and Naval, drawn by L. C. Magos, Scale 1:40,000, and submitted by the district engineer of Leyte.

The municipalities of Kawayan and Naval shall have their present territories minus the portions thereof included in the municipality of Almeria.

The organization herein made shall take effect on September 1, 1948.

Done in the City of Manila, this 12th day of August, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-eight, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the third.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines*

By the President: (SGD.) **EMILIO ABELLO** *Executive Secretary*

