[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 72, December 03, 1936]

ESTABLISHING A CLASSIFICATION OF PORTS

For the purpose of fixing the responsibility for the proper administration, operation, and maintenance of ports, and upon the recommendation of the National Transportation Board created by Executive Order Numbered Forty-five, I, Manuel L. Quezon, President of the Philippines, do hereby establish the following classification of ports:

- 1. National ports.—National ports shall comprise all ports primarily of importance to foreign, interisland, and inter-provincial commerce. Other ports which, on account of their geographical locations, are necessary for enforcing customs regulations or for national defense, may also be classified as national ports. The improvement and maintenance of national ports shall be financed by the Commonwealth Government, and their administration and operation shall be under the direct supervision and control of the Insular Collector of Customs.
- 2. Pursuant to the above classification and the provisions of section one thousand one hundred forty-five of the Revised Administrative Code and Commonwealth Act Numbered One hundred seventy-five, the following ports are hereby designated as national ports:

I. PORTS OPEN TO OVERSEAS SHIPPING:

Provinces	Ports
Albay	(1) Legaspi
Do	(2) Tabaco
Cagayan	(3) Aparri
Camarines Norte	(4) Jose Pañganiban (formerly
	Mambulao
Cebu	(5) Cebu
Davao	(6) Davao
Iloilo	(7) Iloilo
Manila	(8) Manila
Occidental Negros	(9) Pulupandan
Sulu	(10) Jolo
Tayabas	(11) Hondagua
Zamboanga	(12) Zamboanga

II. PORTS OPEN TO COASTWISE TRADE ONLY:

Agusan (1) Nasipit
Albay (2) Virac (Catanduanes)
Antique (3) San Jose de Buenavista
Bataan (4) Mariveles
Batanes (5) Basco
Do (6) Contra Costa
Batangas (7) Batangas