[MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO. 95, May 16, 2016]

AMENDING THE COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD OF ADMINISTRATORS OF THE INTRAMUROS ADMINISTRATION

WHEREAS, under Article VII, Section 17 of the Constitution, the President has the power of control over executive departments, bureaus and offices;

WHEREAS, Presidential Decree No. 1616 (s. 1979) created the Intramuros Administration (IA) to ensure the orderly restoration and development of Intramuros;

WHEREAS, PD No. 1748 (s. 1980) amended PD No. 1616 and recognized the restoration and development of Intramuros as a major historical project of the Government;

WHEREAS, the IA was transferred to the Department of Tourism (DOT) by virtue of Executive Order (EO) No. 120 (s. 1987), and remains attached to the DOT under Republic Act (RA) No. 9593, otherwise known as the "Tourism Act of 2009";

WHEREAS, the IA Board of Administrators is the policy-making body responsible for crafting and setting the Administration's strategic development objectives and overall direction; and

WHEREAS, under Section 2 of PD No. 1616, the President is authorized to designate heads of agencies of the National Government to serve on the Board of Administrators in an ex-officio capacity.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Secretary of the Department of Finance, the Director-General of the National Economic and Development Authority, the Chairperson of the Metro Manila Development Authority, and the Chief Operating Officer of the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority, are hereby directed to serve as members in the IA Board in an ex-officio capacity.

All orders, issuances, or parts thereof, which are inconsistent with this Circular are hereby repealed or modified accordingly. This Circular shall take effect immediately.

DONE, in the City of Manila, this 16th day of May, in the year of Our Lord, Two Thousand and Sixteen.

By Authority of the President:

(SGD.) PAQUITO N. OCHOA, JR. Executive Secretary