## [ MEMORANDUM ORDER NO. 40-2021, May 31, 2021 ]

## CREATING THE TECHNICAL WORKING GROUP (TWG) ON ELECTRONIC NOTARIZATION

WHEREAS, in Memorandum Order No. 36-2020, dated 12 May 2020, the Sub-Committee on the Revision of the Rules Governing Notaries Public was reorganized to draft the interim rules on remote notarization of paper documents;

WHEREAS, in the Supreme Court *En Banc* issued the Resolution in A.M. No. 20-07-04-SC dated July 14, 2020, approving the 2020 *Interim Rules on Remote Notarization of Paper Documents* submitted by the said Sub-Committee;

WHEREAS, the said *Interim Rules* which took effect on August 16, 2020 are limited to the notarization of paper documents and instruments with handwritten signatures or marks through the use of videoconferencing facilities;

WHEREAS, there is an urgent need to formulate rules on electronic notarial practice to permit notarization of electronic documents bearing digital signatures;

NOW, THEREFORE, the Technical Working Group on Electronic Notarization is hereby created and constituted as follows:

Chairperson: Hon. Alfredo Benjamin S. Caguioa

Associate Justice, Supreme Court

Vice **Hon. Ramon Paul L. Hernando** Chairperson: *Associate Justice, Supreme Court* 

Members: Hon. Jose Midas P. Marquez

Court Administrator

Hon. Maria Filomena D. Singh Associate Justice, Court of Appeals

**Executive Judge Marlon Jay Moneva** 

RTC, Cebu City, Branch 74

**Executive Judge Ethel V. Mercado-Gutay** 

RTC, Makati City, Branch 137

**Executive Judge Joyce Kho Mirabueno** 

RTC, General Santos City, South Cotabato, Br. 58