[MEMORANDUM ORDER NO. 45, July 20, 2012]

REQUEST FOR THE CONCURRENCE OF THE PRESIDENT IN THE DEPUTATION OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE PHILIPPINES, THE PHILIPPINE NATIONAL POLICE, AND OTHER LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES, FOR THE 11 AUGUST 2012 PLEBISCITE TO RATIFY THE CONVERSION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF ILAGAN, IN THE PROVINCE OF ISABELA, INTO A COMPONENT CITY

WHEREAS, Republic Act (RA) No. 10169, otherwise known as the "Charter of the City of Ilagan," provides for the conversion of the Municipality of Ilagan into a component city;

WHEREAS, the Commission on Elections (COMELEC), through its Resolution No. 9497 (s. 2012), resolved to request the concurrence of the President in the deputation of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), the Philippine National Police (PNP), and other law enforcement agencies, in connection with the 11 August 2012 plebiscite to ratify the conversion of the Municipality of Ilagan, in the Province of Isabela, into a component city; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 2 (4), Article IX-C of the Constitution, the COMELEC is empowered to deputize, with the concurrence of the President, law enforcement agencies and instrumentalities of the Government, including the AFP, for the exclusive purpose of ensuring free, orderly, honest, peaceful, and credible elections.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, BENIGNO S. AQUINO III, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and existing laws, hereby concur with COMELEC Resolution No. 9497, deputizing AFP, PNP, and other law enforcement agencies, to assist COMELEC in ensuring the free, orderly, honest, peaceful, and credible conduct of the 11 August 2012 plebiscite to ratify the conversion of the Municipality of Ilagan, in the Province of Isabela, into a component city.

The foregoing law enforcement agencies and other concerned agencies are hereby directed to coordinate and cooperate with the COMELEC in the performance of their duties and functions.

This Memorandum Order shall take effect immediately.

DONE, in the City of Manila, this 20th day of July, in the year of Our Lord, Two Thousand and Twelve.

(Sgd.) BENIGNO S. AQUINO III President of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) PAQUITO N. OCHOA JR. Executive Secretary