[DECS ORDER NO. 137 S. 1991, December 18, 1991]

FULL DEREGULATION FOR EXCELLENT - TERTIARY SCHOOLS

It has been declared the policy of the State to encourage and assist, through this Department, educational institutions to attain high levels of quality in the educational programs or courses of studies offered to students and the community.

Pursuant to Section 29, Batas Pambansa Blg. 232 in relation to Rule IV of the Rules and Regulations for the Implementation of the said Act, necessary measures have been undertaken to identify the country's excellent schools.

The initial list of institutions which have been identified as EXCELLENT SCHOOLS is as follows:

Ateneo de Manila University, Manila Ateneo de Naga, Naga City De La Salle University, Manila University of the Philippines, Diliman University of the Philippines, Los Baños University of the Philippines, Manila University of Sto. Tomas, Manila Ateneo de Davao University, Davao City Central Philippine University, Iloilo City College of Holy Spirit of Manila, Manila Miriam College Foundation, Quezon City (formerly Maryknoll College Foundation, Inc.) Philippine Normal College, Manila Saint Louis University, Baguio City Saint Paul College of Manila, Manila Saint Scholastica's College, Manila Siliman University, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental University of San Carlos, Cebu City University of San Jose-Recoletos, Cebu City

These universities and colleges shall be given full deregulation or complete administrative, curricular, and financial autonomy for two (2) years beginning the school year 1992-1993.

These excellent schools shall, however, be closely monitored by the DECS to ensure consistency in their commitment to deliver quality education based on the following criteria:

a. All or more than seventy (70%) percent of the schools' programs or courses offered are excellent.