[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 773, January 05, 2009]

FURTHER REORGANIZING THE PEACE AND ORDER COUNCIL

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 739 reorganized the Peace and Order Council;

NOW, THEREFORE I, GLORIA M. ARROYO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and the laws, do hereby order and direct the following:

SECTION 1. Further Reorganization of the Peace and Order Council. – The Peace and Order Council is hereby further reorganized on the national, regional, provincial, city and municipal levels of government to be constituted as follows:

(a) The Chair of the National Peace and Order Council (NPOC) be the Secretary of Interior and Local Government (SILG). The members of the Council shall be composed of the following:

The Director-General of the National Security Council (NSC)

The Executive Secretary

The Secretary of Foreign Affairs

The Secretary of National Defense (SND)

The Secretary of Justice

The Secretary of Agriculture

The Secretary of Agrarian Reform

The Secretary of Public Works

The Secretary of Social Welfare and Development

The Secretary of Health

The Secretary of Trade and Industry

The Secretary of Transportation

The Secretary of Education

The Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources

The Press Secretary

The Chairman of the Dangerous Drugs Board

The Chairman of the National Commission on Indigenous Peoples

The Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process

The Director-General, Presidential Management Staff

The Director-General, Philippine Information Agency

The Chairperson of the Presidential Anti-Graft Commission

The Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (CSAFP)

The Chief of the Philippine National Police (PNP)

The Director of the National Bureau of Investigation

Three (3) representatives from the private sector who shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines.

- (b) Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) shall be composed of the region's Provincial Governors, the Mayors of the Highly Urbanized Cities, the Presidents of the Leagues of Municipalities, the regional counterparts of the departments, offices and agencies enumerated in paragraph (a) above, wherever applicable, with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be appointed by the SILG with the approval of the President of the Philippines from among the members of the Council. In addition, there shall be one representative of the Mayors of the Component Cities to be chosen from among themselves. The Chairman of the RPOC shall appoint the three (3) representatives of the private sector, upon consultation with the members of the Council and upon acquiring appropriate security clearances. The regional counterpart of the CSAFP shall be the Commander of the Infantry Division. Departments, offices and agencies with no regional and/or field offices shall not sit in the RPOC.
- (c) The Provincial Peace and Order Council (PPOC) shall be composed of the provincial counterparts of the departments, offices and agencies as enumerated in paragraph (a) above, wherever applicable, with the Provincial Governor as Chairman and the Vice Governor as Vice Chairman. In addition there shall be one representative of the Sangguniang Lalawigan to be chosen by it from among its members. The Chairman of the PPOC shall appoint the three (3) representatives of the private sector, upon consultation with the members of the Council and with the approval of the Commander of the Infantry Division and the Regional Director of the PNP. The provincial counterpart of the CSAFP shall be the Brigade Commander or, in the case of Palawan, the Commander of the Western Command. Departments, offices and agencies with no provincial and/or field offices shall not sit in the PPOC.
- (d) The City or Municipal Peace and Order Council (CPOC or MPOC) shall be composed of the city or municipal counterparts of the departments, offices and agencies as enumerated in paragraph (a) above, wherever applicable, with the Mayor as Chrirman and the Vice Mayor as Vice Chairman. In addition, there shall be one representative or the Sangguniang Panlungsod or Sangguniang Bayan, as the case may be, to be chosen by the said Sanggunian from among its members. The Chairman of the CPOC or MCOP shall appoint the three (3) representatives from the private sector, upon consultation with the members of the Council and upon acquiring appropriate security clearances. Departments, offices and agencies with no city, municipal, and/or field offices shall not sit in the CPOC or MPOC.