## [EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 802, May 18, 2009]

## STRENGTHENING AND RECOGNIZING THE PHILIPPINE ACCREDITATION OFFICE ATTACHED TO THE DEPARTMENT OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY AS THE NATIONAL ACCREDITATION BODY

**WHEREAS**, Sec. 13 of RA 9236, or "*The National Metrology Act of 2003*" strengthens and recognizes the laboratory accrediting body attached to the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) as the national accrediting body;

**WHEREAS**, the Bureau of Product Standards of the DTI assumed the laboratory accrediting function, in addition to its standards development and certification functions.

**WHEREAS**, pursuant to ISO/IEC 17011:2004 which became effective on 01 January 2006, a centralized accrediting office independent from BPS needs to be created;

**WHEREAS**, Section 31, Chapter 10, Book III of the Administrative Code of 1987 grants the President the continuing power to reorganize the Executive Branch of government;

**NOW THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO,** President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me, do hereby order:

**SECTION 1.** Pursuant to Section 13 of RA 9236, the Philippine Accreditation Office (PAO), which shall be attached to the DTI, is hereby strengthened and recognized as the national accreditation body. It shall be the central body to accredit inspection, testing and certifying bodies, and other bodies offering conformity assessment services needed by the country.

**SECTION 2.** The PAO Council, to be chaired by the Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry, is hereby created to give policy advice and provide guidance to PAO. The Council shall have ten (10) members, seven (7) from the government sector and three (3) from the private sector.

The government sector shall be represented by the heads of the following departments or agencies or their authorized representatives, who must be at least an Undersecretary:

- 1. Department of Science and Technology
- 2. Department of Health
- 3. Department of Agriculture
- 4. Department of Environment and Natural Resources
- 5. Department of Public Works and Highways
- 6. Department of Energy