[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 103, May 17, 2002]

DIVIDING REGION IV INTO REGION IV-A AND REGION IV-B, TRANSFERRING THE PROVINCE OF AURORA TO REGION III AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

WHEREAS, Article X, Section 4 of the Constitution provides that the President shall exercise general supervision over local government units;

WHEREAS, the administrative regions were established to promote efficiency in the Government, accelerate social and economic development and improve public services;

WHEREAS, to further accelerate the social and economic development of the provinces and cities comprising Region IV and improve the delivery of public services, there is a need to divide Region IV and transfer the Province of Aurora to Region III.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Region IV is hereby divided into Region IV-A and Region IV-B.

SECTION 2. Region IV-A shall be known as CALABARZON and shall be composed of the following provinces and cities:

- a. Provinces
- i. Batangas
- ii. Cavite
- iii. Laguna
- iv. Quezon
- v. Rizal
- b. Cities
- i. Antipolo City
- ii. Batangas City
- iii. Calamba City
- iv. Cavite City
- v. Lipa City
- vi. Lucena City
- vii. San Pablo City
- viii. Tagaytay City
- ix. Tanauan City
- x. Trece Martires City

SECTION 3. Region IV-B shall be known as MIMAROPA and shall be composed of the following provinces and cities: