[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 123, September 12, 2002]

RECONSTITUTING THE NATIONAL WATER RESOURCES BOARD

WHEREAS, the National Water Resources Board (NWRB), the agency charged under Presidential Decree (PD) No. 1067, otherwise known as the "Water Code of the Philippines", with the functions of regulating the "utilization, exploitation, development, control, conservation or protection of water resources", needs to be strengthened to enable it to effectively accomplish its mandate;

WHEREAS, the NWRB's role as the government coordinating and regulating body for all water resources-related development could be more effectively handled if it is made independent from direct claimants to water resources;

WHEREAS, pursuant to PD No. 424, as amended. NWRB is attached to the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH);

WHEREAS, Section 31, Chapter 10, Title III, Book III of Executive Order No. 292, the Administrative Code of 1987, vests the President with the continuing authority to reorganize the bureaucracy wherein she may transfer any agency or function of any executive department to the Office of the President and vice versa;

WHEREAS, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) is the government agency primarily responsible for the conservation, management, development and proper use of the country's environment and natural resources;

WHEREAS, Executive Order (EO) No. 374, series of 1996, created the Presidential Task Force on Water Resources and Development (PTFWRDM), with the Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources as Chair, whose functions is to set water tariffs of Water Districts.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order and decree:

SECTION 1. The NWRB, presently under the DPWH, is hereby transferred to the Office of the President.

SEC. 2. Pursuant to PD 424, the membership of the Board is hereby reconstituted to exclude those with direct claims on water resources. The new Board shall be composed of the following:

Chair : Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources

Vice-Chair: Secretary of Socio-Economic Planning

Members : Secretary of Justice

Secretary of Finance