[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 431, August 05, 1997]

PROVIDING FOR THE CREATION OF THE NATIONAL COORDINATING COUNCIL FOR THE SUGAR INDUSTRY

WHEREAS, the development of the sugar industry is vital to the overall national efforts to promote greater productivity of the agriculture sector and thereby, achieving higher growth of the national economy;

WHEREAS, it is the national policy to promote the growth and development of the sugar industry through greater and significant participation of the private sector, including the furtherance of conducive investment climate and the improvement of the working conditions of the sugar workers;

WHEREAS, there is a need for a coordinating mechanism for the government and private sector partnership in pursuing the national efforts on the development of the local sugar industry and its global competitiveness;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Philippines, by the virtue of powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

Section 1. Creation of the National Coordinating Council for the Sugar Industry. There is hereby created the National Coordinating Council for the local sugar industry, hereinafter referred to as the Council, to promote effective government and private sector coordination in the pursuing the national efforts to enhance the development and global competitiveness of the local sugar industry.

Section 2. *Composition.* The Council shall be composed of the following:

Secretary, Department of Agriculture	– Chairman
Director General, National Economic and	– Co-chairman
Development Authority	
Private Sector selected by the Council from	– Vice Chairman
among its Private Sector Representative-	
Members	
Secretary, Department of Agrarian Reform	– Member
Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry	– Member
Secretary, Department of Public Works and	– Member
Highways	
Secretary, Department of Budget and	– Member
Management	
Secretary, Department of Finance	– Member
Secretary, Department of Labor and	– Member
Employment	
Administrator, Sugar Regulatory	– Member
Administration	

One representative each from the federations of sugar planters, millers, traders, industrial users and consumers, appointed by the President upon the recommendation of the Secretary of Agriculture, shall also be among the members of the Council.