## [EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 358, August 12, 1996]

## CREATING A PRESIDENTIAL COMMISSION FOR THE RESTORATION, CONSERVATION AND PRESERVATION OF THE VIGAN HERITAGE VILLAGE

**WHEREAS,** The Medium-Term Philippine Development Plan for 1993-1998 has identified the North Western Luzon Growth Quadrangle (NWLGQ) comprising the provinces of Region I and the Baguio-La Trinidad-Itogon-Sablan-Tuba (BLIST) area in Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) as a component strategy towards tourism and agri-tourism development;

**WHEREAS**, an important component of the NWLGQ master plan is the tourism Development Master Plan for Region I which identified the area of Vigan and its adjacent municipalities as major destination called "the Vigan Heritage Village and Tourism Complex" in the North Quad Area;

**WHEREAS**, the Vigan Heritage Village and Tourism Complex is envisioned to be the first of its kind in the country and even in the East Asia vicinity;

WHEREAS, to enable the government and the private sector to undertake measures in restoring, preserving and conserving the uniqueness and rich cultural and heritage of Vigan and its environs and in promoting the accelerated socio-economic development of the area, there is a need to create a body that shall be in-charge of the overall direction, coordination and supervision in the planning implementation, management and monitoring of the development efforts of the Vigan Heritage and Tourism Complex.

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS,** President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

**SECTION 1.** There is hereby created under the Office of the President, a Presidential Commission to be called Vigan Heritage Village Commission, hereinafter referred to as Commission. The Commission shall be responsible for the overall policy direction, coordination management and implementation of the entire Vigan Heritage Village and Tourism Complex development efforts. It shall be composed of the following members:

a. Department of Tourism	Chairman
b. Province of Ilocos Sur	Co-Chairman
c. Philippine Tourism Authority	Member
d. Department of Public Works and Highways	Member
e. Department of Interior and Local Government	Member
f. Department of Trade and Industry	Member
g. Department of Education, Culture and Sports	Member
h. Presidential Management Staff	Member
	Member
Project Management Office of North Quad Commission	Member
k. Regional Development Council, Region I	Member
Three (3) Representatives from the Private Sectors who shall be appointed by	Member
the President	