[MMDA RESOLUTION NO. 1, January 16, 1996]

ADOPTING A POLICY BANNING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF NEW AND/OR ADDITIONAL BUS TERMINALS/STATIONS IN METRO MANILA

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) is mandated by law to formulate, coordinate and monitor policies, standards, programs and projects to rationalize the existing transport operations, infrastructure requirements, the use of thoroughfares and goods; provisions for the mass transport and institution of a system to regulate road users; administration and implementation of all traffic enforcement operations, among others;

WHEREAS, the sudden surge of bus terminals/stations along the major thoroughfares in Metropolitan Manila has tremendously increased the volume of vehicles resulting to worsening traffic congestion;

WHEREAS, the MMDA together with the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) has adopted a measure to address and solve the perennial traffic problem in Metropolitan Manila by banning the establishment of new and/or additional bus terminals/stations along major thoroughfares the volume of vehicles plying within the major thoroughfares of Metropolitan Manila;

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved as its is hereby resolved pursuant to Section 6 of RA 7924, that the Metro Manila Council hereby urge the proper officials of local government units in Metro Manila to refrain from issuing building and mayor's permits for the establishment of bus terminals/stations in the places cited in LTFRB Memo Circular No. 95-012 along EDSA, España, Quezon Avenue, E. Rodriguez Avenue, Ramon Magsaysay, Aurora Boulevard and Tramo (Pasay City), and other thoroughfares that may be identified by the local government units (LGUs) concerned, and further requests the Housing and Land Use Regulatory Board (HLURB) to likewise refrain from issuing locational clearances for the construction of new/additional bus terminals in the places cited in the LTFRB Memo Circular No. 95-012 and that may be identified by the LGUs concerned.

This Resolution shall take effect upon approval.

Approved: 16 Jan. 1996

(SGD.) PROSPERO I. ORETA Chairman

(SGD.) BENJAMIN A. ABALOS Member Mayor, City of Mandaluyong (SGD.) VICENTE P. EUSEBIO (SGD.) IGNACIO R. BUNYE Member Mayor, City of Muntinlupa (SGD.) ALFREDO S. LIM