## [ Act No. 1442, January 16, 1906 ]

AN ACT INCREASING THE NUMBER OF MUNICIPALITIES IN THE PROVINCE OF RIZAL FROM SIXTEEN, AS ESTABLISHED BY ACT NUMBERED NINE HUNDRED AND FORTY-TWO, AS AMENDED, TO SEVENTEEN, BY MAKING MALABON AND NAVOTAS SEPARATE MUNICIPALITIES, AND TRANSFERRING THE FORMER MUNICIPALITY OF BARAS FROM THE MUNICIPALITY OF MORONG TO THE MUNICIPALITY OF TANAY.

By authority of the United States, be it enacted by the Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The sixteen municipalities of the Province of Rizal, as established by Act Numbered Nine hundred and forty-two, as amended, shall, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, be increased to seventeen, by separating the former municipality of Navotas from the municipality of Malabon so that the said municipality of Malabon shall consist of the territory of which it was constituted prior to the passage of Act Numbered Nine hundred and forty-two, and so that the municipality of Navotas shall consist of the territory of which it was constituted prior to its consolidation with the municipality of Malabon by said Act.

- SEC. 2. The former municipality of Baras, which was made a part of the municipality of Morong by Act Numbered Nine hundred and forty-two, is hereby transferred from the municipality of Morong to the municipality of Tanay, so that the municipality of Morong shall consist of the territory of which it was constituted prior to the passage of Act Numbered Nine hundred and forty-two and that of the former municipality of Cardona, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Morong, and so that the present municipality of Tanay shall consist of its present territory and that of the former municipality of Baras, with the scat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Tanay.
- SEC. 3. The municipal elections in each of the newly constituted municipalities shall be held in accordance with the rules contained in Act Numbered Seven hundred and thirty, as amended by Act Numbered Nine hundred and twenty-eight. When the new municipal officers shall have been elected and shall have qualified, the present organization of each of the municipalities mentioned in sections one and two of this Act shall be thereby abolished, and all offices held by virtue of their present organization shall be vacant and abolished, so that all the present municipal officials shall cease to hold office as soon as the new officials shall have taken the oath of office. Until the officials elected for such newly constituted municipalities shall have qualified, the present organization of the existing municipalities shall continue.
- SEC. 4. The public good requiring the speedy enactment of this bill, the passage of the same is hereby expedited in accordance with section two of "An Act prescribing the order of procedure by the Commission in the enactment of laws," passed September twenty-sixth, nineteen hundred.
- SEC. 5. This Act shall take effect on its passage.

Enacted, January 16, 1906.