[Act No. 1001, November 20, 1903]

AN ACT REDUCING THE ELEVEN MUNICIPALITIES OF THE PROVINCE OF ABRA TO FIVE.

.By authority of the United States, he it enacted by the Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The eleven municipalities of the Province of Abra shall, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, be reduced to five, as follows:

- 1. The municipality of Bangued shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Tayum and Pidigan, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Bangued.
- 2. The municipality of Pilar shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipality of Villavieja, with the seat of the municipal government at the barrio of San Juan, now a part of the municipality of Villavieja.
- 3. The municipality of Bucay shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipality of San Jose, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Bucay.
- 4. The municipality of La Paz shall consist of its present territory and that of the "municipality of San Gregorio, with the scat of the municipal government at the barrio of Toon, now a part of the municipality of La Paz.
- 5. The municipality of Dolores shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipality of San Juan, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Dolores.
- SEC 2. The action of the provincial governor, approved by the Secretary of the Interior, in declaring the municipality of San Quintin as organized under the Municipal Code to be a Tmguiane township under Act Numbered Four hundred and forty-five, is hereby confirmed, and said San Quintin as a municipality under the Municipal Code is hereby abolished. The cedula taxes collected in San Quintin and now in the provincial treasury shall lie paid into the treasury of the Tinguiane township of San Quintin.
- SEC. 3. The municipal elections in each of tho new municipalities mentioned in section one shall be held in accordance! with the rules contained in Act Numbered Seven hundred and thirty., as amended by Act Numbered Nine hundred and twenty-eight. When the new municipal officials shall have been elected and shall have qualified, the present organization of each of the municipalities mentioned in section one of this Act shall be thereby abolished, and all offices held by virtue of their present organization shall be vacant and abolished, so that all the present municipal officials shall cease to bold office as soon as the new officials shall have taken the oath of office. Until the officials elected for the new municipalities, us described in section one hereof, shall have qualified, the present organization of the existing municipalities shall continue.
- SEC. 4. The public good requiring the speedy enactment of this bill, the passage of