[BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 885, December 03, 1985]

AN ACT CREATING A NEW PROVINCE IN THE ISLAND OF NEGROS TO BE KNOWN AS THE PROVINCE OF NEGROS DEL NORTE.

Be it enacted by the Batasang Pambansa in session assembled:

SECTION 1. The cities of Silay, Cadiz, and San Carlos and the municipalities of Calatrava, Toboso, Escalante, Sagay, Manapla, Victorias, E.B. Magalona, and Salvador Benedicto, all in the northern portion of the Island of Negros, are hereby separated from the Province of Negros Occidental and constituted into a new province to be known as the Province of Negros del Norte.

- SEC. 2. The boundaries of the new province shall be the southern limits of the City of Silay, the Municipality of Salvador Benedicto and the City of San Carlos on the south and the territorial limits of the northern portion of the Island of Negros on the west, north and east, comprising a territory of 4,019.95 square kilometers more or less.
- SEC. 3. The seat of government of the new province shall be the City of Cadiz.
- SEC. 4. A plebiscite shall be conducted in the proposed new province which are the areas affected within a period of one hundred and twenty days from the approval of this Act. After the ratification of the creation of the Province of Negros del Norte by majority of the votes cast in such plebiscite, the President of the Philippines shall appoint the first officials of the new province.
- SEC. 5. The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite herein provided, the expenses for which shall be charged to local funds.
- SEC. 6. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: December 3, 1985.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library
This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)