## [ BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 384, April 08, 1983 ]

## AN ACT CONVERTING THE SULU NATIONAL REGIONAL AGRICULTURAL SCHOOL IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF BONGAO, PROVINCE OF TAWI-TAWI, INTO A COLLEGE TO BE KNOWN AS THE TAWI-TAWI REGIONAL AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE, AND AUTHORIZING THE APPROPRIATION OF FUNDS THEREFOR.

Be it enacted by the Batasang Pambansa in session assembled:

SECTION 1. The Sulu National Regional Agricultural School in the Municipality of Bongao, Province of Tawi-Tawi, is hereby converted into a college to be known as the TawtTawi Regional Agricultural College, hereinafter referred to in this Act as the College.

- SEC. 2. In addition to its present curricula, the College is authorized to offer the following collegiate and graduate courses:
  - Four-year teacher education courses leading to the degrees of Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education and Bachelor of Science in Home Technology;
  - b. Four-year technical curriculum leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture;
  - c. Graduate course leading to the degree of Master of Science in Agricultural Education;
  - d. Graduate course leading to the degree of Master of Science in Home Technology; and
  - e. Graduate course leading to the degree of Master of Science in Agriculture.
- SEC. 3. The aim of the College shall be to provide professional, technical, and special training and promote research, extension services, and progressive leadership in the field of agriculture and home technology.
- SEC. 4. The head of the College shall be known as the President of the Tawi-Tawi Regional Agricultural College. He shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines upon recommendation of the Board of Trustees as hereinafter provided. He shall serve for a term of six years but he may be reappointed. The powers and duties of the President of the College, in addition to those specifically provided in this Act, shall be those usually pertaining to the office of the president of a college.
- SEC. 5. The Tawi-Tawi Regional Agricultural College shall have the general powers set out in Section 36 of Batas Pambansa Bilang 68 and the government and administration of the College and the exercise of its corporate powers are hereby vested in a Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees shall be composed of the Minister of Education, Culture and Sports, who shall be *ex officio* Chairman of the Board, the Regional Director of the National Economic and Development Authority, the President of the College, and four (4) prominent citizens of Region IX preferably from the Province of Tawi-Tawi, to be appointed by the President of the Philippines as members. When both the Minister and the Deputy Minister of Education, Culture and Sports are unable to exercise the powers of the Chairman of the Board of

Trustees, the members of the Board may elect from among themselves a temporary chairman who shall act as Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

The non-ex officio members of the Board, except the President of the College who shall serve during the duration of his incumbency, shall hold office as follows: two to serve for two years and the other two to serve for four years, the term of office of each to be specified in his appointment by the President. Thereafter, persons appointed to succeed such members shall hold office for a term of four years and until their successors shall have been appointed and qualified.

Members of the Board of Trustees shall serve without compensation, other than actual and necessary expenses incurred either in attendance upon meetings of the Board of Trustees or upon other official business authorized by resolution of the Board, subject to existing budget laws on honoraria and allowances.

SEC. 6. The Board of Trustees shall have the following powers and duties, in addition to its general powers of administration:

- a. To receive and appropriate to the end specified by law such sums of money as may be provided by law for the support of the College;
- b. To confer, aside from the degrees now offered by the Sulu National Regional Agricultural School, the degrees of Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education, Bachelor of Science in Home Technology, Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, Master of Science in Agricultural Education, Master of Science in Home Technology, and Master of Science in Agriculture;
- c. To appoint, on the recommendation of the President of the College, professors, instructors, lecturers, administrative and supervisory officials, and other employees of the College, as may be necessary for the effective implementation of the college program; to fix their compensation, subject to Presidential Decree No. 985 and other pertinent budget and compensation laws, hours of service and such other duties and conditions as it may deem proper; to grant to them, in its discretion, leave of absence under regulations as it may promulgate, other provisions of law notwithstanding; to prescribe rules of academic discipline for the educational and professional growth of faculty members and other personnel; and to remove them for cause after an investigation and hearing shall have been held;
- d. To approve the curricula and rules of discipline drawn up by the College Council as hereinafter provided;
- e. To provide fellowship for faculty members and scholarships to students showing special evidence of merit;
- f. To provide rules for its government, and to enact for the government of the College such general ordinances and regulations, not contrary to law, as are consistent with the purposes of the College, as denned in Section three of this Act;
- g. To receive in trust legacies, gifts, and donations of real and personal property of all kinds and to administer the same for the benefit of the College or for aid to any student, in accordance with the directions and instructions of the donor, and, in default thereof, in such manner as the Board of Trustees may, in its discretion, determine;