## [ BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 168, February 08, 1982

## AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF KAPATAGAN IN THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL SUR.

Be it enacted by the Batasang Pambansa in session assembled:

SECTION 1. Subject to the approval of the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be held in the Municipality of Balabagan, Province of Lanao del Sur, the; barangays of Kapatagan, Riarik, Pinantao, Sigpang, Biaklayan, Kabaniakawan, Minimao, Malinday, Upper-Plasen, Madaya, Barao, Demagalen, Tugaya, Tola-Tola, Libya-Sager, Dalo-mangcop, Katitowan, Bongabong, Salaman, Bakikis, Matimus, Lasac, Bacongan, Banigan, Lusain Pantukan, Lulubugan, Yliyana, Tappi, Babagulun, Tabowan, Balikaon, Linindigan, Murunsando, Upper-Egabay, Daguan Inudaran, and Benito are hereby separated from said municipality and constituted into a district and indepen dent municipality in the same province to be known as the Municipality of Kapatagan. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of Barangay Kapatagan.

## SEC. 2. The Municipality of Kapatagan shall be bounded as follows:

"The Municipality of Kapatagan shall be bounded on the East by the boundary line between the Province of Lanao del Sur on the West and the Province of Cotabato on the East from the 'summit of Mount Bita, the highest peak south of Butig, thence south and west to Tugapangan Point'; thence following the natural course of the Budas River up to its intersection with the Magolalung Creek and following the natural course of said creek up to the Butig boundary and following the Butig boundary eastward to point of beginning at the summit of Mount Bita."

- SEC. 3. After the approval of the creation of such municipality through a plebiscite, the mayor, vice mayor and members of the sangguniang bayan of the new Municipality of Kapatagan, shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines, and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected and qualified in the next regular election for local officials.
- SEC. 4. The appointment, qualifications and emoluments of the appointive officials of the new Municipality of Kapatagan shall be governed by existing laws.
- SEC. 5. The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite mentioned in Section One hereof, which shall be held within one hundred twenty (120) days from the approval of this Act. The expenses for the conduct of the plebiscite shall be funded out of the appropriations for the Commission on Elections provided for the purpose in Batas Pambansa Blg. 131.
- SEC. 6. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, February 8, 1982.