[BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 11, December 06, 1978]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN JORGE IN THE PROVINCE OF SAMAR.

Be it enacted by the Batasang Pambansa in session assembled:

SECTION 1. The barangays of Sinit-an, Guadalupe, Hernandez, Bungliw, Janipon, Quezon, New San Isidro, Cantaguic, Ranera, Tomogbong, Rosalim, Aurora, Canyake, Sapinit, Bulao, Buenvista, Himay, Blanca Aurora, Calundan, Lincoro, Lapaz, Erenas, Mobo-ob, Cag-toto-og, Matalud, Libertad, Gayondato and Pohagan, all in the Municipality of Gandara, Province of Samar, are hereby separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality in the same province to be known as the Municipality of San Jorge. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in Barangay San Jorge.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of San Jorge shall become existent upon the ratification by a majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the areas affected within a period of sixty days after the approval of this Act, after which the President (Prime Minister) shall appoint the Mayor and other officials of the new Municipality.

The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite. The expenses for such plebiscite shall be paid out of appropriations provided under the General Appropriations Act for the Commission on Elections.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, December 6, 1978.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)