[Commonwealth Act No. 145, November 07, 1936

AN ACT TO AMEND CERTAIN SECTIONS OF ARTICLES THREE, FOUR, FIRE, AND SIX OF CHAPTER NINE OF THE REVISED ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, AS AMENDED, SO AS TO REORGANIZE THE COURTS OF FIRST INSTANCE.

Be it enacted, by the National Assembly of the Philippines:

SECTION 1. Article III, Chapter nine of the Revised Administrative Code, is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE III.—Courts of First Instance in General

"SEC. 146. Courts of First Instance.—Courts of general original jurisdiction, known as Courts of First Instance, are organized and established throughout the Philippines in conformity with the provisions of this chapter.

"SEC. 147. *Judges of First Instance.*—The judicial function in Courts of First Instance shall be vested in judges of first instance and judges-at-large of first instance, to be appointed and commissioned as hereinafter provided.

SEC. 148. Limitation upon tenure of office.—Judges of first instance and judges-at-large shall be appointed to serve during good behavior, until they reach the age of seventy years, or become incapacitated to discharge the duties of their office, unless sooner removed in accordance with law.

"SEC. 149. *Qualifications.*—No person shall be appointed judge of first instance or judge-at-large unless he has been five years a citizen of the Philippines and has practiced law in the Philippines for a period of not less than five years or has held during a like period, within the Philippines, an office requiring admission to the practice of law in the Philippines as an indispensable requisite.

"SEC. 150. Clerks and other subordinate employees of Courts of First Instance.—Clerks, deputy clerks, assistants, and other subordinate employees of Courts of First Instance shall, for administrative purposes, belong to the Department of Justice; but in the performance of their duties they shall be subject to the supervision of the judges of the courts to which they respectively pertain.

"The clerk of a Court of First Instance may, by special written deputation approved by the judge, authorize any suitable person to act as his special deputy and in such capacity to perform such functions as may be specified in the authority granted.

"SEC. 151. Permanent station of clerk of court.—The permanent station

of a clerk of court shall be at the provincial capital or at the permanent residence of the judge presiding the court.

"SEC. 152. Provincial officer as ex-officio clerk of court.—When the Secretary of Justice shall deem such action advisable, he may direct that the duties of the clerk of court shall be performed by a provincial officer or employee as ex-officio clerk of court, in which case the salary of said employee or officer as clerk of court, ex-officio, shall be fixed by the provincial board and shall be equitably distributed by said board with the approval of the Secretary of Justice between the National Government and the provincial government."

SEC. 2. Article IV, Chapter nine, of the Revised Administrative Code, as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE IV.—Judicial Districts for Courts of First Instance and Judges thereof

"SEC. 153. *Judicial districts.*—Judicial districts for Courts of First Instance in the Philippines are constituted as follows:

"The First Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Cagayan, Batanea, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Abra, and the Subprovince of Apayao, Mountain Province;

"The Second Judicial District, of the Provinces of La Union, Mountain Province, except the Subprovince of Apayao, Pangasinan, Zambales, and Bataan;

"The Third Judicial District, of the Provinces of Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Bulacan, and Pampanga;

"The Fourth Judicial District, of the City of Manila, and the Provinces of Rizal and Palawan;

"The Fifth Judicial District, of the Provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Mindoro, Tayabas, and Marinduque;

"The Sixth Judicial District, of the Provinces of Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon, Masbate, and the Subprovince of Catanduanes;

"The Seventh Judicial District, of the Provinces of Capiz, Romblon, Iloilo, Antique, Occidental Negros, Oriental Negros, and the Subprovince of Siquijor;

"The Eighth Judicial District, of the Provinces of Samar, Leyte, Cebu, and Bohol.

"The Ninth Judicial District, of the Provinces of Occidental Misamis, Oriental Misamis, Agusan, Surigao, Lanao, Bukidnon, Zamboanga, Sulu, Davao, and Cotabato.

"SEC. 154. Judges of First Instance for Judicial Districts.—Four Judges shall be commissioned for the First District. Judicial District, One Judge with permanent residence in the Province of Cagayan shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Cagayan, Batanes and the Subprovince of Apayao, Mountain Province; one Judge with permanent residence in the Province of Isabela, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Isabela and Nueva Viscaya; one Judge shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in the Province of Ilocos Nortc; and another with permanent residence in the Province of Ilocos Sur, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Ilocos Sur and Abra.

"Four Judges shall be commissioned for the Second Judicial District. Two Judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in, the Province of Pangasinan; one Judge with permanent residence in Baguio, Mountain Province, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of the Provinces of La Union and Mountain Province, except Apayao. and another Judge, with permanent residence in the Province of Bataan, shall "preside over the Courts of First Instance of Bataan and Zambales."

"Five judges shall be commissioned for the Third Judicial District. Two Judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in. the Province of Nueva Ecija, and the others shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of, and reside in, the Provinces of Tarlac, Pampanga and Bulacan, respectively.

"Nine Judges shall be commissioned for the Fourth Judicial District. Seven Judges, with residence in the City of Manila, and who shall be known as Judges of the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Branches, respectively, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Manila and Palawan, and two Judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in, the Province of Rizal.

"Five Judges shall be commissioned for the Fifth Judicial District. Two Judges, with permanent residence in Tayabas, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of the Provinces of Tayabas and Marinduque; one Judge shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in, the Province of Cavite; one Judge shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in, the Province of Laguna, and another Judge, with residence in the Province of Batangas, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Batanpras and Mindoro.

"Four Judges shall be commissioned for the Sixth Judicial District. One shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in, the Province of Camarines Sur; one Judge shall preside over the Court of First Instance of, and reside in, the Province of Camarines Norte; one Judge with residence in the Province of Albay, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Albay and Catanduanes, and another, with residence in the Province of Sorsogon, shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Sorsogon and Masbate.

"Six Judges shall be commissioned for the Seventh Judicial District. Two Judges, with residence in Iloilo, shall preside over the Courts of First