First published in the Government Gazette, Electronic Edition, on 2nd October 2009 at 5:00 pm.

No. S 472

SINGAPORE ACADEMY OF LAW ACT (CHAPTER 294A)

SINGAPORE ACADEMY OF LAW (AMENDMENT) RULES 2009

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 27 of the Singapore Academy of Law Act, the Senate of the Singapore Academy of Law hereby makes the following Rules:

Citation and commencement

1. These Rules may be cited as the Singapore Academy of Law (Amendment) Rules 2009 and shall come into operation on 9th October 2009.

Deletion and substitution of rule 2

2. Rule 2 of the Singapore Academy of Law Rules (R 1) (referred to in these Rules as the principal Rules) is deleted and the following rule substituted therefor:

"Definitions

- 2. In these Rules, unless the context otherwise requires "committee" means
 - (a) the Publications Committee;
 - (b) the Committee on Legal Education and Studies;
 - (c) the Law Reform Committee;
 - (d) the Membership and Social Committee;
 - (e) the Professional Affairs Committee;
 - (f) the Board of Commissioners for Oaths and Notaries Public;
 - (g) the Council of Law Reporting;

- (h) the LawNet Management Committee;
- (i) the Electronic Litigation Systems Committee;
- (j) the Legal Heritage Committee;
- (k) the International Promotion of Singapore Law Committee; or
- (*l*) any other committee or board appointed by the Senate to carry out such duties as may be directed by the Senate,

but does not include the Executive Committee referred to in rule 5;

"Faculty" means the Faculty of Law of the National University of Singapore;

"School" means the School of Law of the Singapore Management University.".

Amendment of rule 9

- 3. Rule 9(1) of the principal Rules is amended
 - (a) by inserting, immediately after the words "the Faculty" in sub-paragraph (d), the words "or the School, as the Chief Justice shall determine"; and
 - (b) by deleting sub-paragraph (e) and substituting the following sub-paragraph:
 - "(e) 3 other persons nominated by the Chief Justice after consultation with
 - (i) the Attorney-General;
 - (ii) the President of the Law Society; and
 - (iii) the Dean of the Faculty or the Dean of the School, as the Chief Justice shall determine.".