Political and Security Committee Decision (CFSP) 2020/2048 of 8 December 2020 extending the mandate of the Head of Mission of the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia (EUMM Georgia) (EUMM GEORGIA/2/2020)

POLITICAL AND SECURITY COMMITTEE DECISION (CFSP) 2020/2048

of 8 December 2020

extending the mandate of the Head of Mission of the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia (EUMM Georgia) (EUMM GEORGIA/2/2020)

THE POLITICAL AND SECURITY COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union, and in particular the third paragraph of Article 38 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision 2010/452/CFSP of 12 August 2010 on the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia, EUMM Georgia⁽¹⁾, and in particular Article 10(1) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Decision 2010/452/CFSP, the Political and Security Committee (PSC) is authorised, in accordance with the third paragraph of Article 38 of the Treaty, to take the relevant decisions for the purpose of exercising the political control and strategic direction of the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia (EUMM Georgia), including the decision to appoint a Head of Mission.
- (2) On 11 February 2020, the PSC adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/200⁽²⁾, appointing Mr Marek SZCZYGIEL as Head of Mission of EUMM Georgia from 15 March 2020 to 14 December 2020.
- (3) On 3 December 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1990⁽³⁾, extending the mandate of EUMM Georgia from 15 December 2020 to 14 December 2022.
- (4) The High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy has proposed to extend the mandate of Mr Marek SZCZYGIEL as Head of Mission of EUMM Georgia from 15 December 2020 to 14 December 2021,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The mandate of Mr Marek SZCZYGIEL as Head of the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia (EUMM Georgia) is hereby extended from 15 December 2020 to 14 December 2021.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

It shall apply from 15 December 2020.

Done at Brussels, 8 December 2020.

For the Political and Security Committee The Chairperson S. FROM-EMMESBERGER