Trade Facilitation Activities of Asian Development Bank

Regional Organization Cooperation
Mechanism for Trade Facilitation (ROC-TF)
Annual Meeting
29 October 2012
Colombo, Sri Lanka

Shintaro Hamanaka Economist Asian Development Bank

Overview

- GMS (Grater Mekong Subregion): 1992
 - Cambodia, PRC (specifically Yunnan Province and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region), Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand, and Viet Nam.
- BIMP-EAGA (Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area): 1994
 - Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Philippines.
- SASEC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation): 1996
 - Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, and Nepal.
- CAREC (Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation): 1997
 - Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, PRC, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Background of GMS

- GMS program includes several sectors (in terms of investment): Transport (79%); Energy (17%); others (4%)
- GMS Program on Trade and Transport facilitation mainly has been focused CBTA.
 - Major coverage of GMS CBTA are:
 - single-stop, single-window inspection
 - facilitation of the cross-border movement of persons
 - transit traffic regimes, including exemptions from physical customs inspection, bond deposit, escort, and phytosanitary and veterinary inspection (Customs Transit System);
 - requirements that road vehicles must meet to be eligible for cross-border traffic
 - Exchange of commercial traffic rights
 - infrastructure, including road and bridge design standards, road signs, and signals

Source: Srivastava, P. and U. Kumar. 2012. Trade and Trade Facilitation in the Greater Mekong Subregion

Recent Development of GMS

- 2012 Projects in Trade Facilitation
 - Improved SPS in Cambodia (\$11.41 mn) and Lao PDR (\$14.46 mn)
- GMS Strategic Framework 2012-2022
 - New sector programs: tourism, environment, agriculture
 - Urban services: water and sanitation, feeder roads, transport such as railways
 - Technologically smart investments in energy and telecommunications
 - Green technology
 - Policy and institutional reforms software that supports the infrastructure hardware
 - Knowledge management and partnership

Source: ADB. 2012. Greater Mekong Subregion Twenty Years of Partnership

Background of BIMP-EAGA

- Fundamental objective
 - To close the development gap across and within the EAGA member countries as well as across the ASEAN-6 member states.
- Four Strategic Pillars
 - Enhanced connectivity
 - Trade facilitation
 - Food basket strategy
 - Tourism development
 - Environment
- Priority economic corridors
 - West Borneo Economic Corridor (WBEC)
 - Greater Sulu Sulawesi Corridor (GSSC)
- The Involveement of ADB
 - ADB was requested to provide assistance in developing priority economic corridors in BIMP-EAGA

Source: BIMP-EAGA Implementation Blueprint 2012-2016

Recent Development of BIMP-EAGA (1)

- Customs, immigration, quarantine and security (CIQS)
 - A means to facilitate the cross-border flow of goods and peoples to, from, and within BIMP-EAGA
 - CIQS Task Force was created after the 6th Summit in October 2009
 - MOU on CIQS Harmonization was endorsed at the 18th Senior Official's Meeting and 14th Ministerial Meeting in August 2009. Scope of cooperation:
 - facilitating more efficient intra- and extra-industry trade and cross-border movement of peoples
 - strengthening the security of trade and transport activities

Recent Development of BIMP-EAGA (2)

- BIMP-EAGA Implementation Blueprint 2012-2016
 - Kuala Lurah Border Crossing Facility (Brunei Darussalam)
 - Pandaruan Bridge (Brunei Darussalam)
 - Pontianak-Entikong Transport Link (Indonesia)
 - Palawan Ports Development Program (Philippines)
 - First Equator Asia Access Forum and Airline CEOs Summit (BIMP-EAGA)
 - Trans Borneo Power Grid: Sarawak-West Kalimantan Power Interconnection (Indonesia and Malaysia)
 - ICT Rural Outreach Program (Brunei Darussalam and Philippines)
 - Intelligent Clearance Identification (Brunei Darussalam and Malaysia)
 - Strengthening and Improvements in CIQS Procedures (BIMP-EAGA)

kground of SASEC

our of the seven member countries of the South ociation for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), formed Asian Growth Quadrangle (SAGQ) desh, Bhutan, India, and Nepal, egional initiative was endorsed at the SAARC summit lăldives in 1997.

S

ilitation

ient of ADB

nember countries requested ADB's assistance in their economic cooperation initiative. est led to the implementation of the SASEC program.

