AFGHANISTAN, ARGENTINA, BELGIUM, BOLIVIA, BRAZIL, etc.

Final Act of the United Nations Conference on Transit Trade of Land-locked Countries (with annexed resolutions). Done at New York, on 8 July 1965

Convention on Transit Trade of Land-locked States. Done at New York, on 8 July 1965

Official texts: English, French, Chinese, Russian and Spanish. Registered ex officio on 9 June 1967.

AFGHANISTAN, ARGENTINE, BELGIQUE, BOLIVIE, BRÉSIL, etc.

Acte final de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce de transit des pays sans littoral (avec résolutions en annexe). Fait à New York, le 8 juillet 1965

Convention relative au commerce de transit des États sans littoral. Faite à New York, le 8 juillet 1965

Textes officiels anglais, français, chinois, russe et espagnol. Enregistrés d'office le 9 juin 1967.

- No. 8641. FINAL ACT OF THE UNITED NATIONS CON-FERENCE ON TRANSIT TRADE OF LAND-LOCKED COUNTRIES. DONE AT NEW YORK, ON 8 JULY 1965
- 1. The General Assembly of the United Nations at its 1328th plenary meeting on 10 February 1965 decided to convene an international conference of plenipotentiaries to consider the question of transit trade of land-locked countries and to embody the results of its work in an international convention and such other instruments as it might deem appropriate. This decision was taken in pursuance of a resolution adopted by the First United Nations Conference on Trade and Development at Geneva in June 1964.
- 2. The United Nations Conference on Transit Trade of Land-locked Countries met at the Headquarters of the United Nations in New York from 7 June 1965 to 8 July 1965.
- 3. The Governments of the following fifty-eight States were represented at the Conference: Afghanistan, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Burundi, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, Congo (Brazzaville), Czechoslovakia, Federal Republic of Germany, France, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, India, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Kenya, Laos, Liberia, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mali, Mongolia, Nepal, Netherlands, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Viet-Nam, Romania, Rwanda, San Marino, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Upper Volta, Yougoslavia, and Zambia.
- 4. The Governments of Australia, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Cuba, Denmark, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Mauritania, Peru and Venezuela designated Observers to the Conference.
- 5. The Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization participated in the Conference as an Observer in accordance with rule 57 of the rules of procedure of the Conference.
- 6. The following non-governmental organizations participated in the Conference as Observers in accordance with rule 58 of the rules of procedure of the Conference: International Chamber of Commerce and International Confederation of Free Trade Unions.
- 7. The Conference elected Mr. Paul Ruegger (Switzerland) as President. Mr. A.A.O. Ezenwa (Nigeria) served as Acting President from 6 to 8 July.

- 8. The Conference elected the following representatives as Vice-Presidents: Mr. Abdul Hakim Tabibi (Afghanistan); Mr. D. Lucio Garcia del Solar (Argentina); Mr. Fernando Ortiz Sanz (Bolivia); Mr. J.B. Beleoken (Cameroon); Mr. Josef Smejkal (Czechoslovakia); Mr. Herbert Neupert (Federal Republic of Germany); Mr. D.P. Anand (India); Mr. Yaya Diakite (Mali); Mr. A.A.O. Ezenwa (Nigeria); Mr. Jaime de Pinies (Spain); Mr. G.S. Burguchev (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics); and Mr. A.B.C. Danieli (United Republic of Tanzania).
- 9. The following committees and working groups were set up by the Conference:

General Committee

Chairman: The President of the Conference

Members: The President and the Vice-Presidents of the Conference

Working Group I on Articles 5, 6 and 7

Chairman: Mr. Josef Smejkal (Czechoslovakia)

Working Group II on Articles 1 and 2

Chairman: Mr. W. Riphagen (Netherlands)

Working Group III on Article 11 (formerly Article 12)

Chairman: Mr. Pierre Sanon (Upper Volta)

Working Group IV on Article 16 (formerly article 19)

Chairman: Mr. Giuseppe Barile (Italy)

Drafting Committee

Chairman: Mr. W. Riphagen (Netherlands); later, Mr. Oscar Schachter (Executive Secretary)

Members: Afghanistan, Belgium, Chile, Czechoslovakia, India, Italy, Mali, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Spain, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Credentials Committee

Chairman: Mr. G. Reisch (Austria)

Members: Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Liberia, Nepal, Paraguay, Sudan, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the United States of America.

- 10. The Secretary-General of the United Nations was represented by Mr. Oscar Schachter, Director of the General Legal Division of the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations, who served as Executive Secretary. Miss Kwen Chen, Legal Officer, acted as the Secretary of the Conference.
- 11. The Conference had before it as the basis for its work the report of the Committee on the Preparation of a Draft Convention relating to Transit Trade of

Land-locked Countries (A/5906). The draft Convention transmitted by the Committee, the Afro-Asian draft Convention, as well as all the amendments, were annexed to the report.

- 12. On the basis of its deliberations, as recorded in the summary records of the plenary meetings, the Conference prepared the annexed Convention entitled Convention on Transit Trade of Land-locked States.
- 13. This Convention, which was adopted by the Conference on 8 July 1965, was opened for signature on that day, until 31 December 1965, at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. The Convention provides for ratification and accession, in accordance with its terms.
- 14. In addition, the Conference adopted two resolutions, which are annexed to this Final Act.

In witness whereof the representatives have signed this Final Act.

Done in New York this eighth day of July, nineteen hundred and sixty-five, in a single copy in the Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish languages, each text being equally authentic.

¹ See p. 42 of this volume.

For Afghanistan: Pour l'Afghanistan: 阿富汗: 3a Aфганистан: Por el Afganistán:

Abdul H. Tabiri

FOR ARGENTINA:
POUR L'ARGENTINE:
阿根廷:
3a Aprentuny:
Por la Argentina:

Juan C. BELTRAMINO

For Austria:
Pour l'Autriche:
奥地利:
3a Abetphio:
Por Austria:

Kurt Waldheim

For Belgium: Pour la Belgique: 比利時: За Бельгию: Por Bélgica:

> de Romrée J. Woulbroun