No. 50298

South Africa and Botswana

Agreement between the Government of the Republic of South Africa and the Government of the Republic of Botswana regarding the establishment of a joint permanent commission for co-operation (with declaration of intent, Pretoria, 26 October 2000). Gaborone, 11 March 2003

Entry into force: 11 March 2003 by signature, in accordance with article 4

Authentic text: English

Registration with the Secretariat of the United Nations: South Africa, 11 December 2012

Afrique du Sud

et

Botswana

Accord entre le Gouvernement de la République sud-africaine et le Gouvernement de la République du Botswana concernant la création d'une commission mixte permanente de coopération (avec déclaration d'intention, Pretoria, 26 octobre 2000). Gaborone, 11 mars 2003

Entrée en vigueur : 11 mars 2003 par signature, conformément à l'article 4

Texte authentique : anglais

Enregistrement auprès du Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies : Afrique du Sud, 11 décembre 2012

[ENGLISH TEXT – TEXTE ANGLAIS]

AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF BOTSWANA REGARDING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A JOINT PERMANENT COMMISSION FOR CO-OPERATION

PREAMBLE

The Government of the Republic of South Africa and the Government of the Republic of Botswana (hereinafter referred to in the singular as "the Party" and in the plural as "the Parties ");

BEARING IN MIND the objectives and the spirit of the Charter of the United Nations, the Constitutive Act of the African Union and the Treaty of the Southern African Development Community;

AWARE of the common aspirations of their respective peoples for political, economic, social and cultural development;

RECOGNISING their desire to strengthen and consolidate the existing political, economic, social and cultural relations;

RECALLING the Declaration of Intent signed between the Parties on 26 October 2000 regarding the commitment to engage in political dialogue, and to consult, co-ordinate and co-operate on issues of mutual bilateral and multilateral interest;

DESIROUS of developing comprehensive co-operation based on sovereign equality and mutual benefit between the two States with the aim of raising the living standards of their peoples;

HEREBY AGREE as follows :

ARTICLE 1 ESTABLISHMENT OF A JOINT PERMANENT COMMISSION ON CO-OPERATION

- 1. The Parties hereby establish a Joint Permanent Commission on Co-operation (hereinafter referred to as "the Commission")
- 2. The Commission shall be composed of Ministers of the two Parties with responsibilities for the agreed areas of co-operation;
- 3. The Commission may, if deemed necessary,

- (a) include Premiers of South African provinces bordering the Republic of Botswana; and
- (b) consider the inclusion in its meetings of Premiers of South African provinces not bordering the Republic of Botswana.
- (a) The Commission may form ad-hoc specialised committees (including District Liaison Committees) of National, Provincial or District experts as it may deem necessary in the execution of its duties.
 - (b) The Commission may invite public and private institutions, international and Regional organisations as well as third countries to participate in the implementation of sectoral programmes and projects agreed to under this Agreement.

ARTICLE 2 FUNCTIONS OF THE COMMISSION

The Commission shall have, inter alia, the following functions:

- (a) exchanging ideas and consulting on bilateral and multilateral issues of mutual interest to both Parties;
- (b) planning and implementation of bilateral programmes of co-operation; and
- (c) furthering co-operation and, where necessary, undertaking or commissioning studies and surveys in fields of common interest such as:
 - (i) agriculture and livestock;
 - (ii) water affairs;
 - (iii) mining and tourism;
 - (iv) environmental co-operation;
 - (v) monetary and financial arrangements;
 - (vi) transportation, roads and other infrastructure development;
 - (vii) health, culture, education and development and utilisation of human resources;
 - (viii) joint development and utilisation of natural resources and energy;
 - (ix) migration;

- (x) communication in the fields of telecommunication, broadcasting and posts;
- (xi) any other areas that the commission may identify as beneficial.

ARTICLE 3 MEETINGS, VENUES AND PROCEDURES

- 1.(a) The Commission shall meet once every two years, in an ordinary session.
- (b) The Commission may hold extraordinary sessions upon specific request by a Party. The Party requesting the convening of such a session shall host it.
- (c) The Commission shall meet alternately in the Republic of South Africa and the Republic of Botswana.
- The Commission shall determine its own rules of procedure and the manner in which it shall conduct its business;
- 3. The agenda for each meeting shall be agreed upon by the Parties through the diplomatic channels at least one month before each meeting and shall be adopted at the beginning of the first session.
- Decisions and other conclusions of the Commission shall take the form of agreed minutes.
- 5. Travelling and accommodation expenses of the participants to any meeting or session of the Commission, or its specialised committees, working groups or interim bodies, shall be borne by the countries of such representatives, on the understanding that the host country shall provide local transport, stationery and secretarial services during the meeting.