No. 52772*

Switzerland and Lao People's Democratic Republic

Agreement between the Swiss Federal Council and the Government of the Lao People's Democratic Republic on mutual visa exemption for holders of diplomatic, official or service passports. Vientiane, 14 January 2015

Entry into force: 20 March 2015, in accordance with article 9

Authentic texts: English, French and Lao

Registration with the Secretariat of the United Nations: Switzerland, 6 July 2015

*No UNTS volume number has yet been determined for this record. The Text(s) reproduced below, if attached, are the authentic texts of the agreement /action attachment as submitted for registration and publication to the Secretariat. For ease of reference they were sequentially paginated. Translations, if attached, are not final and are provided for information only.

Suisse

et

République démocratique populaire lao

Accord entre le Conseil fédéral suisse et le Gouvernement de la République démocratique populaire lao sur la suppression réciproque de l'obligation de visa pour les titulaires d'un passeport diplomatique, d'un passeport officiel ou d'un passeport de service. Vientiane, 14 janvier 2015

Entrée en vigueur : 20 mars 2015, conformément à l'article 9

Textes authentiques : anglais, français et lao

Enregistrement auprès du Secrétariat des Nations Unies : Suisse, 6 juillet 2015

*Le numéro de volume RTNU n'a pas encore été établi pour ce dossier. Les textes reproduits ci-dessous, s'ils sont disponibles, sont les textes authentiques de l'accord/pièce jointe d'action tel que soumises pour l'enregistrement et publication au Secrétariat. Pour référence, ils ont été présentés sous forme de la pagination consécutive. Les traductions, s'ils sont inclus, ne sont pas en form finale et sont fournies uniquement à titre d'information.

I-52772

[ENGLISH TEXT – TEXTE ANGLAIS]

AGREEMENT

Between

The Swiss Federal Council

And

The Government of the Lao People's Democratic Republic

On

Mutual Visa Exemption

For Holders of Diplomatic, Official or Service Passports

The Swiss Federal Council and The Government of the Lao People's Democratic Republic (hereinafter referred to as "the Parties"),

Guided by the common desire to facilitate travel between Switzerland and Laos for holders of diplomatic, official or service passports,

Desiring to strengthen mutual cooperation based on trust and solidarity,

Have agreed as follows;

Article 1

DIPLOMATIC AND CONSULAR STAFF

1. Nationals of either Party holding a national diplomatic, official or service passport, valid for at least 6 (six) months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the other Party and issued within the last 10 (ten) years, who are members of a diplomatic mission, a consular post or a permanent mission of their respective

Party to an organisation, with which a Headquarters Agreement has been concluded, may enter the territory of the other Party and stay there for the duration of their assignment without a visa. The sending Party shall notify the receiving Party in advance through diplomatic channels on the posting and function of the aforementioned persons.

2. Family members of the persons specified in paragraph 1 who are nationals of the sending Party and hold a valid national diplomatic, official or service passport shall benefit from the same facilities insofar as they live in the same household and are recognized by the receiving Party as family members entitled to stay with the person specified in paragraph 1.

Article 2

OTHER REASONS FOR TRAVELING

1. Nationals of either Party holding a national diplomatic, official or service passport valid for at least 6 (six) months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the other Party and issued within the last 10 (ten) years, who are not referred to in Article 1 paragraph 1, may enter and stay for a period not exceeding 90 (ninety) days per period of 180 (one hundred eighty) days or leave the territory of the other Party without a visa, providing they do not take up any employment, be it self-employment or otherwise, in the other Party.

2. The duration of stay on the territory of other Schengen Member States is included in the period of 90 (ninety) days specified in paragraph 1 of this article.

3

Article 3

COMPLIANCE WITH NATIONAL LEGISLATION

Nationals of either Party shall comply with the entry and stay regulations and the national legislation in force in the territory of the other Party throughout the duration of their stay.

Article 4

REFUSAL OF ENTRY

The competent authorities of either Party reserve the right to deny entry into or stay in the territory of their State to nationals of the other Party as specified in the Article 1 and 2 for reasons of protection of state security, public order, public health or other serious reasons.

Article 5

NOTIFICATION OF RELEVANT DOCUMENTS

1. The competent authorities of either Party shall exchange through diplomatic channels specimens of their respective passports within 30 (thirty) days from the date of the signing of this Agreement.

2. In the event of changes to their respective passports, the concerned Party shall send the other Party the new specimen, together with the information on their applicability, at least 30 (thirty) days before their introduction date.

Article 6

SETTLEMENT OF DISPUTES

1. The competent authorities of the Parties shall consult each other on any difficulties arising from the application or interpretation of this Agreement.

2. The Parties shall resolve through diplomatic channels any disputes arising from the application or interpretation of this Agreement.

Article 7

AMENDMENTS

Any amendment which has been agreed upon between the Parties shall be notified through diplomatic channels. They shall come into effect on the date of receipt of the second notification by which the Parties inform each other of the fulfillment of their relevant internal procedures.

Article 8

NON-AFFECTION CLAUSE

This Agreement shall not affect other obligations of the Parties arising under international agreements, in particular obligations arising from the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations of 18 April 1961 and the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations of 24 April 1963.

5