No. 4215

AUSTRIA, BELGIUM, CANADA, DENMARK, FINLAND, etc.

Protocol modifying the Convention signed at Paris on 22 November 1928 regarding international exhibitions. Signed at Paris, on 10 May 1948

Official text: French.

Registered by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 18 March 1958.

AUTRICHE, BELGIQUE, CANADA, DANEMARK, FINLANDE, etc.

Protocole portant modification de la Convention signée à Paris le 22 novembre 1928 concernant les expositions internationales. Signé à Paris, le 10 mai 1948

Texte officiel français.

Enregistré par le Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord le 18 mars 1958.

[Translation¹ — Traduction²]

No. 4215. PROTOCOL³ MODIFYING THE CONVENTION SIGNED AT PARIS ON 22 NOVEMBER 1928⁴ REGARDING INTERNATIONAL EXHIBITIONS. SIGNED AT PARIS, ON 10 MAY 1948

The undersigned, plenipotentiaries of the Governments hereinafter named, having met in conference at Paris on 10th May, 1948, have, by common consent and subject to ratification, agreed on the following provisions:

Article 1

Articles 2, 3 and 4 of the Convention of 22nd November, 1928,⁴ are abrogated and replaced by the following articles:

¹ Translation by the Government of the United Kingdom.

^a Traduction du Gouvernement du Royaume-Uni.
^a In accordance with articles 3 and 4 of the Protocol and article 36 of the Convention, the Protocol came into force on the dates indicated as follows:

a) upon deposit of the instruments of ratification with the French Government for the following signatory States: Belgium 20 July 1951 Lebanon . 9 September 1953 Denmark 5 May 1949 Morocco . . 20 July 1955 Finland 1 October 1953 Norway 25 November 1949 France 20 June 1949 1955 Portugal 10 August Greece 6 May 1953 Sweden. . 1950 19 April Haiti 18 August 1951 Switzerland . 23 April 1951 26 December 1952

b) upon deposit of the notification of accession with the French Government for the following acceding States:

Austria 9 January 1957
Canada 8 November 1957
Germany 16 March 1957

Tunisia. 20 July 1955 c) by virtue of accession to the 1928 Convention, one month after the receipt by the French Government of the notification of accession, for the following acceding States:

State	Date of receipt of notification	Date of entry into force
Israel	31 May 1952	30 June 1952 8 February 1951
New Zealand	12 July 1950	12 August 1950
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	2 September 1040	2 October 1949

By notifications addressed to the French Government the application of the Convention as modified by the Protocol was extended by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to the following territories:

a) Notification received on 15 December 1950, effective as from 15 January 1951:

Aden (Aden Colony only and excluding Kamaran and the Aden Protectorate), Barbados, British Guiana, British Honduras, Brunei, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Gibraltar, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Leeward Islands, Federation of Malaya, Malta, Mauritius, Nigeria, North Borneo, Northern Rhodesia, Nyasaland, Sarawak, St. Helena, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somaliand Protectorate, Tanganyika Territory, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Western Pacific, Windward Islands, Zanzibar.

- b) Notification received on 17 April 1951, effective as from 17 May 1951: Cyprus and Jamaica.
 c) Notification received on 22 October 1951, effective as from 22 November 1951: Bahamas.
- ⁴ League of Nations, Treaty Series, Vol. CXI, p. 343, and Vol. CXXX, p. 464; and United Nations, Treaty Series, Vol. 266, p. 443, and Vol. 270, p. 422.